The Day is Finally Here…

Adam is moving out. By the time I get home from my wine weekend, he will have set up shop in his new place. Adam has lived at home all through college. So this day is long in coming.

I have felt that the timing was unfortunate. We have had our trip planned since November. But then I realized that God’s timing is perfect. What better time for Adam to finally leave the nest than when I am distracted.

Oh, don’t be mistaken…..I am ready for him to go. He needs to be his on own. He has been longing for independence for a long time. I want him to have that.

It’s not usual for a young man to live at home until he is 25. But then, nothing about our life has been usual.

I’m truly excited for him. He will have his own space. He will be away from the chaos that is autism, the sudden eruptions that take place unexpectedly.

He will have normal.

Adam hasn’t had normal since he was 4 years old.

Adam is well adjusted. But that doesn’t mean his brother’s autism hasn’t taken its toll. I hear it in the things that he says. I see it in his actions, his priorities, his choices.

So now he will be free from the everyday grind of a brother who doesn’t always sleep well, makes a lot of noise and so much more.

It will be interesting to see how Tanner reacts. I suspect he will sense the absence, but just keep on trucking.

I will be sad not to see those blue eyes everyday. But I will be happy knowing that he is happy.

Adam will be sooooo very happy!

And I will be okay…..in a few days.

About bgotwalt

I'm a wife and mother of 2 boys. One neurotypical and 26 - one 23 with autism. I'm a believer in Jesus Christ and I could not get through this journey of life without Him.

Posted on February 14, 2018, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment